Planning Advisory Board

1221 Elmwood Park Blvd.
Suite 604
Jefferson, La. 70123
P: (504)736-6355

The Jefferson Parish Planning Advisory Board (PAB) is a Council appointed Advisory Board created by the Parish Charter to review all land use issues that affect the present and future use of land in the unincorporated areas of Jefferson Parish.

This includes land designation (zoning), land division/consolidation (subdivision) and regulations (codes) with the intent of establishing the most desirable, safe and compatible physical model possible.

The Board's primary function is to provide a forum for public input on the above mentioned matters as follows:

Zoning, subdivision and land use regulations are presented at a public Board meeting in accordance with applicable laws relative to due process notification.

The Board hears a presentation, technical analysis and a RECOMMENDATION from the Planning Department staff on each case.

The Board then hears from all interested parties (opponents/proponents).

  • Please note that information may be submitted to the Planning Advisory Board prior to the Public Hearing via e-mail at the following address:&nbap;

    Please specify the Board Member (s) that you wish to receive the information in your e-mail. Computers are available to the general public at all Jefferson Parish Libraries.

Thereafter, the Board formulates its own RECOMMENDATION and a report is sent to the Parish Council detailing the outcome of the hearing, all RECOMMENDATIONS and any other information gathered on the case.

The Parish Council, at a public meeting, is presented all information on the case by the Planning director, along with both RECOMMENDATIONS, and a vote by the Council on the final decision will take place.

The Planning Advisory Board is composed of seven members. Each Jefferson Parish Council member appoints one member. Board members are as follows:

Mildred Zorick Congemi, At Large A, Vice Chair
Bert Turner, At Large - Division B, Chairman
Darrel Beerbohm, District 1
Don Bonewitz, District 2
Che' R. Jones, District 3
Samantha McCann, District 4
Sam Russo, District 5

All General Meetings will be held in the in the Council Chambers at 5:00 pm

All Westbank Public Hearings will be held in the General Government Building, 200 Derbigny St., Council Chambers on the second floor at 5:00 p.m.

All Eastbank Public Hearings will be held in the Joseph Yenni Building, 1221 Elmwood Park Blvd., Council Chambers on the second floor at 5:00 p.m.